Eczema

So I have Asthma and along with being born with Asthma I was blessed with Eczema.  When I was a little kid I use to wear gloves at night & have my nails clipped to the skin so that I would scratch in my sleep.  There was period where it was so bad it covered 80% of my body except my face & special parts and I would wake up covered in caked on blood from itching in my sleep all night long.

As I got older it got better and better and I was able to stop taking medicine or creams for it completely except for the seasonal flare ups in the dead of winter and peak of summer.  When I flared up it was usually in the same spots, behind the knees, the crease of the elbow, my hips and stomach.  I haven’t had problems with flare ups since moving to Cali because of the weather I assume.

Anyway my point of all this explaining is that it came back last night while I was at the gym.  I’m honestly not surprised since I have been sweating so much lately but it still really sucks.  I had the hardest time during my last 1/2 hour at the gym last night because I was starting to get itchy all over.  When I got home it was even worse in all the areas I mentioned before, especially my stomach & hips.

Image

Inside elbow exzema (not my arms, just an example of what it looks like)

It always starts out as a just a heat rash but then you have a rash while your skin is all dried out and it turns into eczema essentially. When I woke up this morning my stomach was scratched raw. 😦

Image

Not my stomach but this is what it looked like this morning when I got up

I didn’t bleed thankfully, just scratched it pink & raw. If I hadn’t got up and made myself stop itching it’d be real bad by now.  It doesn’t help that I have long nails too.

wpid-1356050816365.jpg

Hopefully I won’t itch tonight and it will start getting better but it just means I am going to have to be more careful at the gym & maybe take breaks to wipe my legs, stomach and arms off so that it doesn’t continue.

I hate that it has flared up like this again when it has been gone for so long. It was always such a fearful thing for me as a child, looking gross & crusty & feeling in pain, I just can’t let it get bad again.

About smashvip

A fat girl who was skinny once, just trying to find her way back to skinny & happy. You gotta look good to survive LA LA land.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eczema

  1. I have eczema too. The winter and sweat make it worse, how do you treat it?

    • smashvip says:

      Well it’s been a long time but I use to have prescription steroid cream for it but it’s been so long I have nothing to treat it with now. Vani cream is an otc thick lotion that works well with it too, they also have soap which I use. Walgreens is the only place I know of that carries it or pharmacies do too sometimes

  2. I am sorry for all your struggles. I hope you continue to fight and win 🙂

  3. ephemeral says:

    sorry to hear the eczema is back. I hope whatever creams you have help it out.

Leave a Reply

